clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clarke Already Significant Championship Survivor

He's not even blown out the candle on his one-year anniversary cake and already Reading boss Steve Clarke is nudging towards the top half of the Championship's longest serving bosses.

Martin Willetts/Getty Images

Yesterday's departures of Chris Ramsey from QPR (Oh hi again Colin!) and Chris Powell from Huddersfield means took this year's number of Championship managerial casualties to six before we've even got past bonfire night.

Those two sacking also elevated Reading boss Steve Clarke to 14th on the list of longest serving managers despite the fact he's only been in the job for 10 and a half months.

MK Dons manager Karl Robinson is the only man to have notched up five years while no manager in the Championship was managing in the division the last time Reading were promoted in the 2011/12 season. In fact just nine managers were even in charge of their clubs at the end of the 2013/14 campaign.

Six of the managers above Clarke in the list have won promotion with their current clubs while another in Aitor Karanka took his side to the play-off final last season.

Given the pressure on some of the managers above him it's very possible to see Clarke inside that top 10 come May but then again if this mini slump continues you never know what could await the Reading boss.

Club Manager Date Appointed
MK Dons Karl Robinson May 10, 2010
Hull Steve Bruce June 8, 2012
Burnley Sean Dyche October 30, 2012
Ipswich Mick McCarthy November 1, 2012
Preston Simon Grayson February 18, 2013
Blackburn Gary Bowyer May 24, 2013
Wolves Kenny Jackett May 31, 2013
Middlesbrough Aitor Karanka November 13, 2013
Bristol City Steve Cotterill December 3, 2013
Cardiff Russell Slade October 5, 2014
Bolton Neil Lennon October 12, 2014
Birmingham Gary Rowett October 27, 2014
Fulham Kit Symons October 29, 2014
READING STEVE CLARKE December 15, 2014
Brighton Chris Hughton December 21, 2014
Nott'm Forest Dougie Freedman February 1, 2015
Derby Paul Clement June 1, 2015
Sheffield Weds Carlos Carvalhal June 30, 2015
Brentford Lee Carsley September 28, 2015
Rotherham Neil Redfearn October 9, 2015
Leeds Steve Evans October 19, 2015
Charlton Karel Fraeye* October 26, 2015
Huddersfield Mark Lillis* November 4, 2015
QPR Neil Warnock* November 4, 2015

*Caretaker manager