clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Tilehurst End Podcast 2017 Awards: The Winners

Check out who picked up our end of year gongs.

85th Annual Academy Awards - Backstage
“Three cheers for Liam Moore”
Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images

In case you missed our Tilehurst End Podcast Christmas Special, here's who scooped our 2016 TTE podcast awards.

Player of the Year

Previous winners: Alex McCarthy (2013), Jordan Obita (2014), Oliver Norwood (2015), Ali Al Habsi (2016)

Nominated: Liam Moore

Winner: Liam Moore

A few honourable mentions for Yann Kermorgant and Jordan Obita aside, it was easy to pick the defender as the team’s most consistent performer across the whole 12 months.

Most Improved Player

Previous winners: Jordan Obita (2013), Jake Cooper (2014), Nick Blackman (2015), Garath McCleary (2016)

Nominated: Jordan Obita, Joey van den Berg, Liam Kelly

Winner: Liam Kelly

Entering the side as a surprise pluck from the youth team midway through 2016, Kelly has continued to develop his game and work incredibly hard for the team in 2017. Not the finished product yet, Kelly continues to make great strides in high pressure games and started the new season on top form.

The 'Hal Robson-Kanu' Award For Underachievement

Previous winners: Hal Robson-Kanu (2013 & 2014), Jordan Obita (2015), Jake Cooper (2016)

Nominated: Tyler Blackett, Sone Aluko, Tiago Ilori, Garath McCleary

Winner: Sone Aluko

Nipping in ahead of McCleary’s potential most improved-underachiever double, Aluko won out having arrived as a supposed ready-made attacker that would take Reading to the next level for a record fee. While there’s plenty of time for that to happen, and we have faith it will, there’s a sense that Aluko has generally disappointed thus far.

Golden Moment

Previous winner: Academy Success Story (2014), Bradford FA Cup Win (2015), Piazon vs West Brom in the Cup (2016)

Nominated: Obita’s opener at Fulham in the play-offs, Bristol City three-goal comeback, youth stars at the World Cup, beating Fulham in the second leg

Winner: Beating Fulham in the Play-Offs

Condensed down into the general moment of the final whistle going at the Mad Stad, this was truly the pinnacle achievement of the campaign as an unfancied Reading team made Wembley.

Worst Moment

Previous winner: Birmingham 6-1 Reading (2014), Arsenal's winner at Wembley (2015), Handling of Brian McDermott's sacking (2016)

Nominated: Moore’s penalty versus Huddersfield, Schindler’s winning penalty, an abject display at Millwall, the performance at Wembley, Norwich spanking the Royals

Winner: Moore’s penalty

Huddersfield had just missed, he was one of our most reliable players... Ugh. Next!

Comedy Moment

Previous winner: Burnley pitch invasion (2014), Lady Sasima's song (2015), HRK's goal v Belgium (2016)

Nominated: Neil Warnock getting sent to the stands, Fulham fans’ anger at losing in the play-offs, the whole #StamOut affair, the Norwich defeat, Piazon versus Reading

Winner: Piazon trolling Reading

An unlikely moment to have cropped up in 2017, Lucas Piazon returned to the club as a Fulham player and rolled in a late leveller at the Mad Stad before becoming embroiled in a mad-bantz Twitter spat with Reading fans, who took it a little too seriously. Lolz.

The 'Pavel Pogrebnyak' Most Missed Reading Player

Previous winner: Adam Federici (2015), Aaron Tshibola (2016)

Nominated: Danny Williams, Steven Reid, Jordan Obita, Yann Kermorgant

Winner: Danny Williams

Fighting off the crocked stars and departed backroom coach, Williams was pretty much the only summer departure not replaced by the club like-for-like. As a result, the team miss his drive and determination in midfield.

Breakout Prediction aka ‘The Curse’

Previous winners: Royston Drenthe (2013), Dominic Samuel (2014), Jonathan Bond (2015), Yakou Meite (2016)

Nominated: Omar Richards, Andy Rinomhota, Sam Smith, Axel Andresson

Winner: Omar Richards

We suck at this. Sorry Omar, we reckon you’ll do well. Just don’t get too excited about that.