clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

STAR Hall Of Fame 2017: Be There

STAR's Hall of Fame is back and you can be there to see some very worthy names from Reading FC's past inducted.

STAR Hall of Fame logo

When’s this?

Thursday 30 March at Princess Suite, Madejski Stadium. Doors open at 7.30pm – and the bar will be open too.

What’s happening?

It’s a celebration of Reading things past and present. We’ve invited several groups to display what they do in the world of Reading FC football around the edges of the Princess Suite before the main event. We expect to see:

  • The Former Players’ Association
  • The Collectors & Historians
  • The Tilehurst End
  • Reading FC Community Trust
  • And of course STAR Travel and STAR Souvenirs

We’re going to have a quick-fire quiz that everyone can take part in, under the stewardship of Ady Williams, and a raffle for a match-worn at Old Trafford Jem Karacan shirt. And a Sean Morrison one too.

Inducting thirteen new names

Then the main event, compered by Paul Allen and Roger Titford, is the induction of thirteen new names into STAR’s Reading FC Hall of Fame. The contribution of each to the club will be described in turn, together with some match action snippets where possible, and framed certificates handed to the representatives of each inductee who may say a few words.

Our Hall of Fame inductees are fairly evenly spread across the club’s 145 year history so you could find about some men who made crucial or interesting contributions that now get overlooked.

Can I come?

The event is free to attend and open to STAR Members and, this year, non-members. We do require non-members to register on the guest list in order to gain entry to the event as the Princess Suite has a finite capacity. To register email and for latest news on the event please visit

Last year’s Hall of Fame inductees were Edward Haygarth, Joey Warburton, Allen Foster, John Arlott, Tommy Tait, Ronnie Blackman, Johnny Walker, Gordon Neate, Roger Smee, Ady Williams and Graeme Murty.