clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Reading FC’s 2018/19 Championship Opponents Confirmed

Any away days you’re looking forward to?

Doncaster Rovers v Wigan Athletic - Sky Bet League One Photo by Stephen Pond/Getty Images

Following today’s EFL League One play-off final, all of Reading’s 23 Championship opponents for 2018/19 have been confirmed.

Rotherham beat Shrewsbury at Wembley to confirm their return to the second tier at the first time of asking, something that Wigan Athletic and Blackburn Rovers have also achieved - meaning it is the first time in 45 years that of all three of the previous year’s relegated teams coming straight back up. They of course replace Barnsley, Burton and Sunderland who will play in League One next season.

Yesterday, Fulham beat Aston Villa 1-0 in the Championship play-off final to become the third and final team to win promotion to the Premier League, joining Wolves and Cardiff City in the promised land. In their place, Swansea City, Stoke City and West Bromwich Albion have dropped down to the Championship after lengthy spells in the top flight.

2018/19 Championship line-up

Aston Villa

Birmingham City

Blackburn Rovers

Bolton Wanderers


Bristol City

Derby County

Hull City

Ipswich Town

Leeds United



Norwich City

Nottingham Forest

Preston North End

Queens Park Rangers


Rotherham United

Sheffield United

Sheffield Wednesday

Stoke City

Swansea City

West Bromwich Albion

Wigan Athletic