clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Tilehurst End Podcast 2019 Awards: The Winners

We crown our most improved player, underachiever and much more.

QIPCO British Champions Day - Ascot Races
Queen Elizabeth II eyes up The Tilehurst End’s Most Improved Player gong
Photo by Julian Herbert/PA Images via Getty Images

The Tilehurst End dished out the awards in the Christmas Special Podcast - and here’s the rundown of who won what.

Player of the Year

Previous winners: Alex McCarthy (2013), Jordan Obita (2014), Oliver Norwood (2015), Ali Al Habsi (2016), Liam Moore (2017), Jon Dadi Bodvarsson (2018)

Nominated: Andy Yiadom, Matt Miazga, Ovie Ejaria

Winner: Ovie Ejaria. What more can we say about this utter magician? Wimb describes how he is the one player who gets you out of your seat every time he is on the ball and, for now at least, he’s our little secret.

Most Improved Player

Previous winners: Jordan Obita (2013), Jake Cooper (2014), Nick Blackman (2015), Garath McCleary (2016), Liam Kelly (2017), Yakou Meite (2018)

Nominated: John Swift, Andy Yiadom, Sam Baldock, Andy Rinomhota

Winner: John Swift. Arguably the player of the season so far, the midfielder is hitting the heights we all knew he was capable of and the team visibly suffers when he’s not on the pitch. Let’s hope he breaks the curse.

The ‘Hal Robson-Kanu’ Award For Underachievement

Previous winners: Hal Robson-Kanu (2013 & 2014), Jordan Obita (2015), Jake Cooper (2016), Sone Aluko (2017 & 2018)

Nominated: Danny Loader, George Puscas, Lucas Boye

Winner: George Puscas. When a player arrives from Inter Milan for £8 million, you really expect something immediately. By the end of the year, it feels as if the bedding-in excuses are wearing thin and it’s about time we see the Romanian live up to his price tag.

Golden Moment

Previous winners: Academy Success Story (2014), Bradford FA Cup Win (2015), Piazon clincher versus West Brom in the FA Cup (2016), Fulham 2nd Leg PO Win (2017), Mannone penalty save versus QPR (2018)

Nominated: TTE gets mentioned on BT commentary, Barrow’s goal versus Ipswich, Obita’s return and goal versus Millwall, the Wigan comeback, Miazga gives Bowen a last-gasp debut win, John O’Shea’s send-off

Winner: The Wigan Comeback. How life could have been so different at Reading if Mo Barrow and Yakou Meite hadn’t rescued a win from nothing at home to relegation rivals Wigan? Either way, the 3-2 victory was a memorable triumph for Jose Gomes’ side.

Worst Moment

Previous winners: Birmingham 6-1 Reading (2014), Arsenal’s winner at Wembley (2015), Handling of Brian McDermott’s sacking (2016), Moore’s Wembley penalty (2017), Ipswich 0-4 (2018)

Nominated: Having to sack Jose Gomes, losing 1-4 to Fulham, losing 1-4 to Swansea

Winner: Reading 1-4 Fulham. Not one but two massive defeats suffered at the Mad Stad in 2019 with this demolition job ultimately killing Jose Gomes’ time in charge of the club.

Comedy Moment

Previous winners: Burnley pitch invasion (2014), Lady Sasima’s song (2015), HRK goal v Belgium (2016), Piazon returning to troll (2017), Ipswich scoring from our corner (2018)

Nominated: The red shirt scandal, the reaction to Mark Bowen’s appointment, Nottingham Forest gets postponed late in the day, neither side has a shot on target at Stoke

Winner: Bowen’s appointment. We don’t think there was anything too dodgy about how he got the job - but the memes were very funny. A win for the internet (and hopefully Reading)

The ‘Pavel Pogrebnyak’ Most Missed Reading Player

Previous winners: Adam Federici (2015), Aaron Tshibola (2016), Danny Williams (2017), Jordan Obita (2018)

Nominated: Emiliano Martinez, Mo Barrow, Lewis Baker, Nelson Oliveira

Winner: Lewis Baker. The Chelsea loanee may find it hard to oust the likes of Rinomhota right now but his impact on the side in his six months were vital to Reading staying up.

Breakout Prediction

Previous winners: Royston Drenthe (2013), Dominic Samuel (2014), Jonathan Bond (2015), Yakou Meite (2016), Omar Richards (2017), Danny Loader (2018)

Nominated: Michael Olise, Coniah Boyce-Clarke, Tom McIntyre, Sone Aluko

Winner: Michael Olise. An exciting winger, a French youth international and a youngster we’ve seen enough glimpses of to know he deserves a shot in 2020.